Watson handed Wimbledon wildcard

Watson handed Wimbledon wildcard
By Reuters

12/06/2012 at 19:39Updated 12/06/2012 at 22:00

Heather Watson and Laura Robson are among the wildcards in the women’s draw at Wimbledon.

Fellow Britons Naomi Broady and Johanna Konta have also been handed first-round places for the Grand Slam which begins on June 25, according to the LTA.

In the men’s draw, Britons Jamie Baker, Oli Golding, Josh Goodall and James Ward have been handed wildcards.

The 2002 champion Lleyton Hewitt of Australia and Belgium's David Goffin, the lucky loser who took a set off Roger Federer at the French Open, have also been given wildcards.

Hewitt, 31, has dropped to 176 in the world after career-saving toe surgery in February.

Veteran German Tommy Haas will also feature at the grasscourt tournament after he was included on the list. The last male wildcard and two outstanding women's spots will be announced on Friday.

Virginie Razzano, the Frenchwoman who beat Serena Williams in the first round in Paris, received one of the women's eight wildcards as did Kazakhstan qualifier Yaroslava Shvedova who reached the French quarter-finals after ousting champion Li Na.

The low-ranked British ladies will join top-100 players Anne Keothavong and Elena Baltacha in the main draw at the All England Club.

British number three Watson impressed in reaching the second round of the French Open at Roland Garros – having come through qualifying – where she lost to Julia Goerges.

By contrast top-ranked Briton Baltacha and number two Keothavong lost in the opening round.

World number four Andy Murray is the only British male to start in the main draw by right.

Ward, Baker and Goodall are ranked British numbers two to four, while 18-year-old former child actor Golding is not in the top 10 yet.

Men's wildcards:

1. Jamie Baker (GBR)

2. David Goffin (BEL)

3. Oliver Golding (GBR)

4. Josh Goodall (GBR)

5. Tommy Haas (GER)

6. Lleyton Hewitt (AUS)

7. James Ward (GBR)

8. To be announced

Women's wildcards:

1. Naomi Broady (GBR)

2. Johanna Konta (GBR)

3. Virginie Razzano (FRA)

4. Laura Robson (GBR)

5. Yaroslava Shvedova (KAZ)

6. Heather Watson (GBR)

7. To be announced

8. To be announced