Top seeds continue progress at Acapulco

Top seeds continue progress at Acapulco
By Eurosport

21/07/2012 at 06:55Updated 21/07/2012 at 07:10

The top seeds dominated proceedings once again on day four of action at the Quiksilver Surf Open Acapulco in Mexico.

In two-to-four foot waves at Playa Revolcadero, Gavin Gillette of Hawaii notched the day's highest single wave score and heat total after a massive backside air reverse in the dying moments of his last-32 heat saw him earn 8.83 and 13.76 respectively.

"I was pretty nervous because second place is not a good spot to be in," Gillette said.

"I knew the Mexican guys could get barreled or do an air and they didn’t need much of a score. I knew I had to come back and battle with those guys and I’m glad I did."

"I’ve been surfing out here two or three times a day just to try and figure it out. My first session, I didn’t catch any waves and it’s difficult. When it comes, there can be a bunch of close outs, so you’ve really got to be on it."

Fellow Hawaiian Dege O’Connell also impressed after finding the sole barrel in his round of 64 heat to score an 8.00 and claim victory.

"I paddled out early because I wanted to check out the lineup and saw a drainer in the heat before so I knew there were a couple of barrels," O’Connell said.

"I just dropped in to that one and all I had to do was ride it. It was just a perfect barrel."

Round of 32 results:

Heat 1: Colin Moran (USA) 11.23, Jeffrey Lukasik (USA) 6.87, Cristobal De Col (PER) 5.94, Jeremy Johnston (USA) 4.60

Heat 2: Tanner Hendrickson (HAW) 11.23, Michael Powell (USA) 11.17, Guillermo Satt (CHL) 10.17, Tim Reyes (USA) 8.87

Heat 3: Gavin Gillette (HAW) 13.76, Dane Anderson (USA) 12.93, Blas Bacardo (MEX) 5.47, Phillip Goold (USA) 4.60

Heat 4: Jose Trujillo (MEX) 10.40, Diego Cadena (MEX) 9.83, Dylan Goodale (HAW) 9.57, Camilo Hernandez (CHL) 6.10

Round of 64 results:

Heat 13: Miguel Tudela (PER) 11.16, Shane Beschen (USA) 9.67, Cesar Petroni (MEX) 6.80, Enrique Ariitu (PYF) 3.04

Heat 14: Leigh Sedley (AUS) 11.83, Ian Crane (USA) 8.17, Hunter Lysaught (UAS) 5.88, Travis Southworth (MEX) 4.80

Heat 15: Dege O’Connell (HAW) 10.47, Ricky Whitlock (USA) 7.43, Marcelo Rodriguez (ARG) 7.33, Eala Stewart (HAW) 6.90

Heat 16: Hank Gaskell (HAW) 13.00, Chris Tucker (USA) 5.83, Christian Corzo (MEX) 5.06, Sebastian Correa (PER) 4.53