Drago out in International Championship qualifiers

Drago out in International Championship qualifiers
By Eurosport

20/08/2012 at 05:58Updated 20/08/2012 at 17:30

Tony Drago lost in the opening round of qualifying for the International Championship in Sheffield.

Maltese Falcon Drago, who was included on the main tour for 2012-13 as a wildcard despite ending last season 65th in the world rankings - he is now ranked 70th - went down 6-3 to Liam Highfield.

Six-times world champion Steve Davis joins qualifying in Monday's second round, while Jimmy White and Liang Wenbo among others begin in round three on Tuesday and the likes of Peter Ebdon, Ali Carter and Marco Fu come straight into the fourth and final round on Wednesday.

The tournament proper, a new ranking event, takes place from October 28 to November 4 in Chengdu, China.

It features the highest level of prize money of any tournament in China, with £125,000 going to the winner.

First-round results

Paul Davison 6-4 Fraser Patrick

Michael Wasley 6-4 Jamie O'Neill

Li Yan 5-6 Zhang Anda

Tian Pengfei 6-3 Joel Walker

Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon 4-6 Thepchaiya Un-Nooh

Luca Brecel w/o Mohamed Khairy

Sam Baird 6-1 Ben Judge

Pankaj Advani 6-1 Craig Steadman

Kurt Maflin 6-5 Gareth Allen

Robbie Williams 6-3 Scott Donaldson

Aditya Mehta 6-3 Michael Leslie

Tony Drago 3-6 Liam Highfield

Ian Burns 6-4 Sean O'Sullivan

Chen Zhe 1-6 Martin O'Donnell

Passakorn Suwannawat 2-6 Daniel Wells

Dechawat Poomjaeng 6-3 David Grace

Monday's second-round matches

James Wattana v Thepchaiya Un-Nooh

Peter Lines v Paul Davison

Liu Chuang v Michael Wasley

Jimmy Robertson v Luca Brecel

David Gilbert v Sam Baird

Steve Davis v Pankaj Advani

Alfie Burden v Zhang Anda

Rod Lawler v Kurt Maflin

Andy Hicks v Robbie Williams

Mike Dunn v Aditya Mehta

Adam Duffy v Liam Highfield

Cao Yupeng v Tian Pengfei

Yu De Lu v Ian Burns

Anthony McGill v Martin O'Donnell

Barry Pinches v Daniel Wells

Mark Joyce v Dechawat Poomjaeng

Players to join round three

Michael White 

Ben Woollaston

Jamie Jones

Anthony Hamilton

Rory McLeod

Alan McManus

Gerard Greene

Jack Lisowski 

Mark King

Jimmy White

Liang Wenbo

Matthew Selt

Jamie Burnett

Nigel Bond

Xiao Guodong

Dave Harold

Players to join round four

Barry Hawkins

Dominic Dale

Ken Doherty

Ryan Day

Andrew Higginson

Marco Fu

Mark Davis

Fergal O'Brien

Jamie Cope

Robert Milkins

Tom Ford

Marcus Campbell

Peter Ebdon

Joe Perry

Allister Carter