Golf-Presidents Cup

Golf-Presidents Cup
By Reuters

08/12/2019 at 16:00Updated 08/12/2019 at 16:02

MELBOURNE, Dec 8 (Reuters) - Factbox for the 13th Presidents Cup between the United States and the International team comprised of players from the rest of the world excluding Europe:

VENUE: Royal Melbourne (composite course), Australia

DATE: Dec. 12-15


United States:

Captain - Tiger Woods

Players - Woods, Patrick Cantlay, Bryson DeChambeau, Tony Finau, Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Matt Kuchar, Patrick Reed, Xander Schauffele, Webb Simpson, Justin Thomas, Gary Woodland


Captain - Ernie Els (South Africa)

Players - Abraham Ancer (Mexico), Adam Hadwin (Canada), An Byeong-hun (South Korea), Im Sung-jae (South Korea), Marc Leishman (Australia), Li Haotong (China), Hideki Matsuyama (Japan), Joaquin Niemann (Chile), Louis Oosthuizen (South Africa), C.T. Pan (Taiwan), Adam Scott (Australia), Cameron Smith (Australia)

FORMAT (times in GMT):

Thursday - Five matches of fourball (best ball), in which each player on two-man teams hits his own ball. (From 2230)

Friday - Five matches of foursomes (alternate shot), in which two-player teams share one ball and take turns with shots (0000)

Saturday - Four matches of fourball (2000) and four matches of foursomes (0100)

Sunday - 12 singles matches (2300)


Played: 12

United States wins: 10

Internationals wins: 1

Tie: 1

2017 U.S. won 19-11 at Liberty National, New Jersey

2015 U.S. won 15.5-14.5 at Jack Nicklaus Golf Club, South Korea

2013 U.S. won 18.5-15.5 at Muirfield Village, Ohio

2011 U.S. won 19-15 at Royal Melbourne, Australia

2009 U.S. won 19.5-14.5 at Harding Park, California

2007 U.S. won 19.5-14.5 at Royal Montreal, Canada

2005 U.S. won 18.5-15.5 at Robert Trent Jones Golf Club, Virginia

2003 Tied 17-17 at the Links at Fancourt Country Club, South Africa

2000 U.S. won 21.5-10.5 at Robert Trent Jones Golf Club Virginia

1998 Internationals won 20.5-11.5 at Royal Melbourne, Australia

1996 U.S. won 16.5-15.5 at Robert Trent Jones Golf Club, Virginia

1994 U.S. won 20-12 at Robert Trent Jones Golf Club, Virginia (Compiled by Andrew Both and Ian Ransom; Editing by Nick Mulvenney)