Hamilton tops wet practice

Hamilton tops wet practice
By Eurosport

06/07/2012 at 22:38Updated 06/07/2012 at 23:17

Lewis Hamilton set the quickest time of the day in free practice two in a soggy afternoon session ahead of the British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

The combination of a sodden track and the limited number of wet and intermediate tyres permitted by the regulations meant it was only when the rain eased off in the second half of the session that drivers began work in earnest.

There was then a further delay when Bruno Senna aquaplaned into the barriers on the way out of the Becketts complex. The heavily-damaged Williams caused a 10-minute red flag period. Senna stepped out unhurt.

Sauber's Kamui Kobayashi was the initial pacesetter, as the Japanese driver showed the same flair that he had in the morning.

But his 1m56.474s was then pipped by a 1m56.345s from McLaren driver Hamilton.

That was how the lead order stayed, with Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg moving into third and fourth for Mercedes, and Sergio Perez putting the second Sauber fifth.

The Mexican subsequently had a big spin coming out of Woodcote.

Fernando Alonso also had a late incident in the Ferrari while trying intermediate tyres, smashing the car's new-spec front wing off on the barriers as he spun across the grass.

Although times were relatively meaningless in the conditions, Heikki Kovalainen's seventh place to Caterham was certainly noteworthy.

The Finn was yet another man to go off the road, although his incident was limited to a messy trip through a big puddle in the grass.


1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:56.345

2. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Sauber - Ferrari 1:56.474

3. Michael Schumacher (Germany) Mercedes 1:56.545

4. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1:56.567

5. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Sauber - Ferrari 1:57.493

6. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1:57.948

7. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Caterham - Renault 1:58.580

8. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus - Renault 1:58.897

9. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India - Mercedes 1:58.943

10. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1:59.015

11. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India - Mercedes 1:59.429

12. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams - Renault 1:59.472

13. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull - Renault 1:59.476

14. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1:59.854

15. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 2:00.565

16. Timo Glock (Germany) Marussia - Cosworth 2:00.820

17. Bruno Senna (Brazil) Williams - Renault 2:01.099

18. Vitaly Petrov (Russia) Caterham - Renault 2:01.348

19. Charles Pic (France) Marussia - Cosworth 2:03.719

20. Narain Karthikeyan (India) HRT - Cosworth 2:04.774

21. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus - Renault

22. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso - Ferrari

23. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault

24. Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) HRT - Cosworth