Getty Images

Sterling and Van Dijk lead PFA nominations

Sterling and Van Dijk lead PFA nominations
By Eurosport

20/04/2019 at 18:32Updated 20/04/2019 at 19:35

Raheem Sterling and Virgil van Dijk lead the way for the PFA Player of the Year nominations which were announced on Saturday.

The Manchester City forward and Liverpool centre-back are widely considered to be competing against each other for the award, which last season was won by Van Dijk’s team-mate Mohamed Salah.

Sterling, 24, has scored 17 Premier League goals and assisted 9 in City’s quest to retain the title with a further five strikes in the Champions League.

Van Dijk is the key cog in Liverpool’s defence, which has given up just 20 goals in the league this season, the best record in the division.

The Dutchman is one of the best defenders in the world and has helped lead Liverpool to the Champions League semi-finals for a second successive season.

Elsewhere in the list, released by the PFA on Saturday morning, Sterling’s City team-mates Sergio Aguero and Bernardo Silva are both nominated, as is another Liverpool player in Sadio Mane.

Aguero and Mane have scored 19 and 18 goals respectively in the league whilst Silva has contributed a combined 13.

Chelsea’s Eden Hazard completes the list after a stellar campaign for the Blues which has seen him score 16 goals and register 12 assists for a total contribution of 28 goals, more than any other player in the league.

Notable exclusions include Tottenham Hotspur's Son Heung-min and Liverpool's Mohamed Salah who have 12 and 19 league goals respectively.

In the Young Player of the Year category both Sterling and Silva are nominated despite being 24 years of age.

Trent Alexander-Arnold gets in after nailing down the right-back spot at Anfield whilst Marcus Rashford is Manchester United’s sole representative on either list.

David Brooks of Bournemouth and West Ham’s Declan Rice complete the list.