Getty Images

Manchester City women dominate PFA award shortlist

Manchester City women dominate PFA award shortlist
By Eurosport

20/04/2019 at 23:26Updated 20/04/2019 at 23:30

Manchester City's Steph Houghton, Nikita Parris and Keira Walsh were among the six-woman shortlist for the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year award, the organisation said on Saturday.

Chelsea have two nominees - Ji So-yun and Erin Cuthbert - on the shortlist, with Arsenal star Vivianne Miedema completing the line up.

However, there is no room on the 2019 award shortlist for 2018 winner Fran Kirby.

Dutch star Miedema, the WSL leading scorer, is named on both the PFA Player and Young Player of the Year award shortlist.

The 22-year-old Miedema shares the honour of a double nomination with Cuthbert and Walsh, while the Bristol City number one Sophie Baggaley, West Ham’s Alisha Lehmann, and City's final nominee Georgia Stanway complete the shortlist.

The winners, voted for by the PFA members, will be announced at the annual awards ceremony on April 28.