Simon Yates claims first Time Trial win at Paris-Nice

Simon Yates claims first Time Trial win at Paris-Nice
By Eurosport

15/03/2019 at 00:29Updated 15/03/2019 at 03:52

Simon Yates powered to victory on the stage five time trial of Paris-Nice, the first time trial win of his career.

The Mitchelton-Scott rider set a powerful time early on Thursday that nobody could match as the Vuelta a Espana winner claimed unexpected glory.

The British rider set a time of 30:26 over the 25.5km stage with Nils Politt of Team Katusha-Alpecin finishing second seven seconds behind and overall leader Michal Kwiatkowski of Team Sky coming in 11 seconds back.

Kwiatkowski extends his overall lead to 19 seconds ahead of his Team Sky team-mate Egan Bernal.

“I am really happy with my performance, I have been working on my time trial quite a lot the last few years but I didn’t really expect to be fastest today. At the start of the day I thought it was for the TT specialists. So especially with how this course was I am very happy," said Yates.

"It was really straight forward, there weren’t any corners you really needed to brake for, it was just in the skis, so a pretty filthy time trial for a guy of my size.The climb in the middle wasn’t real hard, the climb up to the finish line was probably harder so I am really happy with what I did today."

“The sensations are good for the next days, I knew I had good form, well decent form coming into the race and just got caught out in the crosswinds, it wasn’t from a lack of form or anything."

Stage 5 Barbentane to Barbentane, 25.5 km.

Men's elite individual time trial.

Stage winners

  • 1. Simon Yates (GBR) Mitchelton - Scott 30:26
  • 2. Nils Politt (GER) Team Katusha - Alpecin +7
  • 3. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL) Team Sky +11
  • 4. Tejay van Garderen (USA) EF Education First +15
  • 5. Daniel Martínez (COL) EF Education First "
  • 6. Egan Bernal (COL) Team Sky "
  • 7. Lawson Craddock (USA) EF Education First "
  • 8. Tom Scully (NZL) EF Education First +27
  • 9. Marc Soler (ESP) Movistar Team +30
  • 10. Luis León Sánchez (ESP) Astana Pro Team "
  • 11. Bob Jungels (LUX) Deceuninck - Quick-Step +39
  • 12. Ion Izagirre (ESP) Astana Pro Team +43
  • 13. Esteban Chaves (COL) Mitchelton - Scott +44
  • 14. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) Team Dimension Data "
  • 15. Jack Bauer (NZL) Mitchelton - Scott +45
  • 16. Wilco Kelderman (NED) Team Sunweb +49
  • 17. Nairo Quintana (COL) Movistar Team +53
  • 18. Dylan Teuns (BEL) Bahrain - Merida +57
  • 19. Felix Großschartner (AUT) BORA - hansgrohe +58
  • 20. Alessandro De Marchi (ITA) CCC Team +1:01

Overall leaders

  • 1. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL) Team Sky 17:23:00
  • 2. Egan Bernal (COL) Team Sky +19
  • 3. Luis León Sánchez (ESP) Astana Pro Team +28
  • 4. Wilco Kelderman (NED) Team Sunweb +1:01
  • 5. Bob Jungels (LUX) Deceuninck - Quick-Step "
  • 6. Nairo Quintana (COL) Movistar Team +1:05
  • 7. Felix Großschartner (AUT) BORA - hansgrohe +1:09
  • 8. Jack Haig (AUS) Mitchelton - Scott +1:19
  • 9. Rudy Molard (FRA) Groupama - FDJ +1:22
  • 10. Romain Bardet (FRA) AG2R La Mondiale +1:25