Murphy and Bingham draw, Higgins wins

Shaun Murphy and Stuart Bingham fought out a 3-3 draw in Carlisle on the third night of the Premier League while John Higgins edged Mark Allen.

Murphy and Bingham draw - SnookerAFP

Murphy, the 2005 world champion, battled from three frames behind to snatch a point in his Group A clash with Bingham, who was making his debut in the competition.

“That felt like a win,” said Murphy. “It is a tough school, the Premier League. I didn’t feel I played badly in my first game (a 2-4 defeat to Ding Junhui) and I felt I played alright tonight. It is really, really tough, this could be the hardest year ever.

“I went into the game knowing it was Stuart’s debut and I didn’t want to throw him into the reds to start with. I went for a longish red with safety in mind and I got a kick on the red and left him in the balls, which helped settle him down. I made a mistake but it wasn’t really my fault but that is a part of snooker, you have to take it on the chin.”

Later in the evening at The Sands, Higgins prevailed 4-2 against Allen in another six-framer.

The four-times world champion also had to come from behind to secure victory after Allen took the opener, but he proved too strong, taking a 3-2 lead before securing victory in the decisive frame.

Event Three results:

Group A

Shaun Murphy 3-3 Stuart Bingham

16-83 (Bingham 53), 55-68 (Murphy 54, Bingham 68), 0-105 (Bingham 59), 88-51 (Murphy 88), 97-0 (Murphy 58), 77-53 (Murphy 42, Bingham 49)

Group B

John Higgins 4-2 Mark Allen

0-71 (Allen 67), 69-34 (Higgins 38), 67-63 (Higgins 33), 58-70 (Higgins 38, Allen 49), 95-39 (Higgins 59), 76-30 (Higgins 52)

Group A table:

Name Played Won Drawn Lost Pts

Neil Robertson 1 1 0 0 2

Ding Junhui 1 1 0 0 2

Stuart Bingham 1 0 1 0 1

Shaun Murphy 2 0 1 1 1

Mark Selby 1 0 0 1 0

Group B table:

Name Played Won Drawn Lost Pts

Judd Trump 1 1 0 0 2

Peter Ebdon 1 1 0 0 2

John Higgins 1 1 0 0 2

Mark Allen 1 0 0 1 0

Stephen Lee 2 0 0 2 0

The players:

Group A

Shanghai Masters champion: Mark Selby (world number1)

Brazilian Masters champion: Shaun Murphy (6)

Masters champion: Neil Robertson (7)

Championship League winner: Ding Junhui (11)

2011 Australian Goldfields Open champion: Stuart Bingham (16)

Group B

UK champion: Judd Trump (2)

Wild Card: John Higgins (5)

PTC Grand Final champion: Stephen Lee (8)

World Open champion: Mark Allen (12)

China Open champion: Peter Ebdon (20)

    Do not miss
    • TV guide

      Find detailed TV schedules for all Eurosport channel.

    • Mobile Applications

      Find all the sports news on iPhone, BlackBerry, Android and iPad.

    • Breaking News

      Follow up to the minute sports reports with Eurosport.

    On Facebook
    On Twitter
    On Mobile
    EurosportCopyright 2014 is available in other languages