Autodromo di Monza


TRACK FACTS from Autodromo di Monza

Time Zone: GMT +1
Length: 5.793 km - 53 l.
Lap Record: 1:21.046
(R. Barrichello, 2004)
Latest Winner:
F. Alonso (Ferrari)


PREVIOUS RESULTS from Autodromo di Monza

2005 Pole Position: J. P. Montoya (McLaren) - 1:20.089
2005 Fastest Lap: K. Räikkönen (McLaren) - 1:21.504
2005 Podium:
1. Juan Pablo Montoya (McLaren) - 1:15:18.448
2. Michael Schumacher (Ferrari) +1 sec
3. Jenson Button (BAR) +10 secs


DRIVER VIEW from Autodromo di Monza

Fernando Alonso

"It's a special track and the fastest of the year so we run the car with a special low downforce package which means it feels very strange and light because you miss a bit of grip in the corners. In the past we used to test at Monza before the race as you need a special set-up with the car, but obviously we can't do that now which means we have a lot of work to do on Friday to find a good balance. You need a car that has good straight-line speed, is stable under braking and can use the curbs in the chicanes."


CHARACTERISTICS from Autodromo di Monza


The oldest and fastest race set in a royal park north-east of Milan, where speeds top 220mph with an average of more than 150mph per lap. An 'ultra low downforce' package is normally called upon for Monza, while the engines spend 75 per cent of the lap at full throttle and 15 per cent braking. Thus, Monza provides the ultimate test for both engines and brakes as drivers need to use skill and finesse on the circuit. No other circuit has hosted more races and some of the old banked track is still visible. The passion of the locals makes for an unforgettable weekend, particularly if Ferrari are on form.


PAST WINNERS from Autodromo di Monza

2005 - Juan Pablo Montoya (McLaren)
2004 - Rubens Barrichello (Ferrari)
2003 - Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)
2002 - Rubens Barrichello (Ferrari)
2001 - Juan Pablo Montoya (Williams)
2000 - Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)
1999 - Heinz-Harald Frentzen (Jordan)
1998 - Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)
1997 - David Coulthard (McLaren)
1996 - Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)
1995 - Johnny Herbert (Benetton)


CONTACTS from Autodromo di Monza

Autodromo Nazionale di Monza
20052 Monza Parco
Do not miss
  • TV guide

    Find detailed TV schedules for all Eurosport channel.

  • Mobile Applications

    Find all the sports news on iPhone, BlackBerry, Android and iPad.

  • Breaking News

    Follow up to the minute sports reports with Eurosport.

On Facebook
On Twitter
On Mobile
EurosportCopyright 2014 is available in other languages