PA Sport

Gerrard wins England Player of the Year

Gerrard wins England Player of the Year
By PA Sport

Last update04/02/2013 at 07:20

Publishedon 04/02/2013 at 06:39

Last update04/02/2013 at 07:20

Publishedon 04/02/2013 at 06:39

Article by PA Sport

Steven Gerrard has been voted the Football Association's England Player of the Year for the second time.

The Liverpool midfielder received the award from Sir Bobby Charlton at the FA England awards ceremony at St George's Park.Gerrard, who had previously lifted the award in 2007, finished ahead of Manchester United striker Danny Welbeck, with Chelsea defender Ashley Cole third.

Gerrard joins Chelsea midfielder Frank Lampard and Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney in lifting the award twice. The 32-year-old was one of England's best performers at Euro 2012 when he set up a series of goals with his deadly delivery from set pieces.

The award completes a memorable period for Gerrard, who was handed the England captaincy by manager Roy Hodgson ahead of the finals in Ukraine and Poland. More than 180,000 votes were cast by supporters on website, a record for the player poll since David Beckham was crowned in 2003.

Left-back Stephanie Houghton was voted England women player of the year. Houghton was a star performer for Team GB during the Olympic Games and scored the winner against Brazil.

Other notable award winners included the women's senior team, who were voted Club England team of the year. The men's under-21 and women's under-23 players of the year awards went to Liverpool midfielder Jordan Henderson and Toni Duggan respectively.

The evening was part of The FA's 150th anniversary programme and celebrated the work of the Bobby Moore Fund for Cancer Research UK.

FA chairman David Bernstein said: "Clearly The FA England Awards is about much more than prize-giving and honouring those who have achieved. The elite level is the pinnacle of a pyramid that makes English football so special.

"They are the inspiration to over two million people regularly playing football in this country. All involved at every level deserve our recognition and respect."

The full list of award winners:

Men's youth player of the year - Nathaniel Chalobah

Women's youth player of the year - Alex Greenwood

Women's Under-23 player of the year - Toni Duggan

Disability player of the year - Imbrahima Diallo

England 'C' player of the year - Jamie Turley

Club England team of the year - England Women's Team

Men's Under-21 player of the year - Jordan Henderson

Lifetime achievement award - David Clarke, England and Team GB Blind Tea

Senior women's player of the year - Stephanie Houghton

Senior men's player of the year - Steven Gerrard

0 comment
Reading now: