Serpa wins on Genting for fourth time

Jose Serpa clinched victory on the queen stage on Genting of Le Tour de Langkawi for the fourth time in his career on Wednesday.

Serpa wins on Genting  - CyclingImago

Serpa, who has previously won the stage in 2006, 2007 and 2009, overcame a two-way battle for the lead over the final five kilometres of the steep 1679m climb to pip countryman Victor Nino Corredor.

The Colombian only moved to the front with around 400m left to race, with Jose Rujano Guillen third by some distance.

Overnight general classification leader Drapac's Darren Lapthorne lost enough time to be stripped of his yellow jersey with Serpa now seemingly assured to become the first two-time winner of the Malaysian race.

Stage results

1 Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Androni Giocattoli 3:09:37

2 Victor Nino Corredor (Col) Azad University +0:00:02

3 José Rujano Guillen (Ven) Androni Giocattoli +0:00:46

4 Alexsandr Dyachenko (Kaz) Astana Pro Team +0:02:32

5 Jackson Rodriguez (Ven) Androni Giocattoli +0:02:53

6 Stefano Locatelli (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox +0.02:53

7 Matteo Rabottini (Ita) Farnese Vini +0:03:25

8 Chris Butler (USA) Champion System +0:03:26

9 Andrey Zeits (Kaz) Astana Pro Team +0:03:28

 10 Dennis Van Niekerk (RSA) MTN Qhubeka +0:03:35


    • Related links
Do not miss
  • TV guide

    Find detailed TV schedules for all Eurosport channel.

  • Mobile Applications

    Find all the sports news on iPhone, BlackBerry, Android and iPad.

  • Breaking News

    Follow up to the minute sports reports with Eurosport.

On Facebook
On Twitter
On Mobile
EurosportCopyright 2014 is available in other languages