Cook named on ICC nomination list

Alastair Cook has been nominated as one of the nine candidates for the ICC player of the year award for a second successive year.

Cook on ICC shortlist - CricketReuters

Cook last year won the Test cricketer category, and his England team-mate Jonathan Trott took the overall award, following their exploits in the historic 2010/11 Ashes success.

Opener Cook is joined in the 2012 list by his team-mate Stuart Broad, Pakistan's Saeed Ajmal, South Africa's Hashim Amla and Vernon Philander, Australia captain Michael Clarke, Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara, India's Virat Kohli and West Indies' Stafanie Taylor - the first woman to be nominated for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.

The awards will be presented at the ninth annual ceremony, before the start of the ICC World Twenty20, in Colombo on September 15.

Cook, and his rivals, will be judged on performances between August 4 last year and August 6 this year - a period which began with his career-best 294 as England went to the top of the ICC world Test rankings with a series-clinching victory over India at Edgbaston.

Further England interest in next month's awards includes seamer Broad, wicketkeeper Matt Prior and Cook for Test cricketer of the year, fast bowler Steven Finn and Cook again - nominated in the one-day international player category - and Ravi Bopara and Alex Hales, for their respective bowling at The Oval and batting at Trent Bridge, as Twenty20 performance of the year.

Lydia Greenway and Sarah Taylor will be up against the Windies' Taylor for the women's cricketer of the year awards - and Irishmen dominate the ICC affiliate and associate category, with six of the 10 nominees.

England fast bowler James Anderson was named earlier this month as one of the five candidates for the people's choice award.

Awards lists in full:

Individual Awards

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Male or Female

Saeed Ajmal (Pak)

Hashim Amla (SA)

Stuart Broad (Eng)

Michael Clarke (Aus)

Alastair Cook (Eng)

Virat Kohli (Ind)

Vernon Philander (SA)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

Stafanie Taylor (WI)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year

Saeed Ajmal (Pak)

Hashim Amla (SA)

Stuart Broad (Eng)

Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)

Michael Clarke (Aus)

Alastair Cook (Eng)

Jacques Kallis (SA)

Vernon Philander (SA)

Matt Prior (Eng)

Marlon Samuels (WI)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

Dale Steyn (SA)

AB de Villiers (SA)

ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year

Shahid Afridi (Pak)

Saeed Ajmal (Pak)

Michael Clarke (Aus)

Alastair Cook (Eng)

MS Dhoni (Ind)

Steven Finn (Eng)

Gautam Gambhir (Ind)

Shakib Al Hasan (Bang)

Virat Kohli (Ind)

Lasith Malinga (SL)

Brendon McCullum (NZ)

Morne Morkel (SA)

Sunil Narine (WI)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

Brendan Taylor (Zim)

Shane Watson (Aus)

ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year

Jess Cameron (Aus)

Shanel Daley (WI)

Lydia Greenaway (Eng)

Anisa Mohammed (WI)

Mithali Raj (Ind)

Sarah Taylor (Eng)

Stafanie Taylor (WI)

ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year

Jess Cameron (Aus)

Shanel Daley (WI)

Alyssa Healy (Aus)

Anisa Mohammed (WI)

Mithali Raj (Ind)

Lisa Sthalekar (Aus)

Sarah Taylor (Eng)

Stafanie Taylor (WI)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year

Trent Boult (NZ)

Doug Bracewell (NZ)

Dinesh Chandimal (SL)

Pat Cummins (Aus)

Nasir Hossain (Bang)

Junaid Khan (Pak)

Nathan Lyon (Aus)

Tino Mawoyo (Zim)

Sunil Narine (WI)

James Pattinson (Aus)

Lahiru Thirimanne (SL)

Matthew Wade (Aus)

ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year

Shaiman Anwar (UAE)

Peter Borren (Neth)

George Dockrell (Ire)

Trent Johnston (Ire)

Ed Joyce (Ire)

John Mooney (Ire)

Kevin O’Brien (Ire)

Hiran Patel (Can)

Paul Stirling (Ire)

Dawlat Zadran (Afg)

ICC Men’s Twenty20 International Performance of the Year

Ravi Bopara (Eng) – 3.4-0-10-4 v West Indies, The Oval, 23 September 2011

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL) – 104no (57b, 12x4, 5x6) v Australia, Pallekele, 6 August 2011

Chris Gayle (WI) – 85no (52b, 7x4, 5x6) v New Zealand, Lauderhill, 30 June 2012

Martin Guptill (NZ) – 91no (54b, 5x4, 6x6) v Zimbabwe, Auckland, 11 February 2012

Mohammad Hafeez (Pak) – 2.2-0-10-4 v Zimbabwe, Harare, 16 September 2011

Alex Hales (Eng) – 99 (68b, 6x4, 4x6) v West Indies, Nottingham, 24 June 2012

Richard Levi (SA) – 117no (51b, 5x4. 13x6) v New Zealand, Auckland, 22 February 2012

Brendon McCullum (NZ) – 81no (46b, 5x4, 6x6) v Zimbabwe, Harare, 15 October 2011

Ajantha Mendis (SL) – 4-1-16-6 v Australia, Pallekele, 8 August 2011

Sunil Narine (WI) – 4-0-12-4 v New Zealand, Lauderhill, 1 July 2012

Elias Sunny (Bang) – 4-1-13-5 v Ireland, Belfast, 18 July 2012

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award

Mohammad Hafeez (Pak)

Jacques Kallis (SA)

Kieron Pollard (WI)

Daniel Vettori (NZ)

AB de Villiers (SA)

ICC Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy)

Billy Bowden

Aleem Dar

Steve Davis

Kumar Dharmasena

Billy Doctrove

Marais Erasmus

Ian Gould

Tony Hill

Richard Kettleborough

Nigel Llong

Asad Rauf

Simon Taufel

Rod Tucker

People’s Choice Award

James Anderson (Eng)

Jacques Kallis (SA)

Vernon Philander (SA)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)

 - Eurosport
    Do not miss
    • TV guide

      Find detailed TV schedules for all Eurosport channel.

    • Mobile Applications

      Find all the sports news on iPhone, BlackBerry, Android and iPad.

    • Breaking News

      Follow up to the minute sports reports with Eurosport.

    On Facebook
    On Twitter
    On Mobile
    EurosportCopyright 2014 is available in other languages