Kolkata Knight Riders batsman Brad Haddin bats during their Champions League Twenty20 cricket match against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Bangalore, India, Thursday, Sept. 29, 2011 - AP

Champions League returns to South Africa

Champions League returns to South Africa

By PA Sport
Last update 03/07/2012 at 20:40 - Published on 03/07/2012 at 20:06
By PA Sport - 03/07/2012 at 20:40

South Africa will host this year's Champions League Twenty20 in October.

Fourteen teams from eight countries, including the winners of England's FriendsLife t20 competition and, for the first time, Pakistan's T20 champions, will play in the tournament from October 9 to 28.

The teams involved will be Kolkata Knight Riders (pictured), Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils and Mumbai Indians from India, Titans and Highveld Lions from South Africa, Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers from Australia, Trinidad and Tobago from West Indies, Auckland Aces from New Zealand, Sialkot Stallions from Pakistan as well as a team each from England and Sri Lanka.

The matches will be played in Centurion, Durban, Cape Town and Johannesburg.

It will be the second time South Africa has hosted the tournament after staging it in 2010. The 2009 and 2011 editions took place in India.

0 comment
Add yours